Elliott C. Back: Internet & Technology

Credit Card Fraud at Zoosk.com

Posted in Crime, Finance, Spam by Elliott Back on October 17th, 2010.

I received the following warning from Chase bank via email and a series of harried transactions. Apparently someone decided to try to use my Chase British Airways BA Visa card to signup for an e-dating site. The baddie was doing this from London, Ireland, and had tried four times today with different expiration dates and CSV confirmation codes:

URGENT: Confirmation of Recent Transaction
Your Account Ending in XXXX

Dear ELLIOTT:

As part of our ongoing effort to protect your account and our relationship, we monitor your account for possible fraudulent activity. We have recently attempted to contact you by phone and/or text message but we have been unsuccessful in reaching you. We need to confirm that you or someone authorized to use your account made the following transaction on your British Airways Visa account ending in XXXX:

Transaction for $54.94 at ZOOSK.COM was declined on or around 10/17/2010 in LONDON, Ireland.

Zoosk is some kind of scammy online dating site that I definitely did not sign up for. Currently, it looks like this:

Apparently a lot of people think Zoosk itself sucks. I wonder if it’s the company itself is behind this. I can’t really see people using stolen credit cards to sign up for a dating service. Maybe it’s just a test run? Or an accident?

MSN Messenger Spam – FreakyLoving.com

Posted in Microsoft, Spam by Elliott Back on June 27th, 2010.

So I got this unwanted piece of MSN spam (from a friend who has now changed their MSN password):

(10:40:23 AM) ZZZ: You are not going to believe this!! FreakyLoving.com , you HAVE to go there and tell me what your results are!
(10:40:36 AM) ZZZ has signed off.

I went to the site, and indeed it’s a typical MSN virus scam:

* TERMS AND CONDITIONS
I agree and acknowledge that I am subscribing to Impression Media’s Text Alert subscription service, either by entering my cell phone number and the PIN Code that was sent to the cell phone supplied by you on this website and clicking the “Submit” button, or by replying to the text message sent by Impression Media to such cell phone with the word “YES”, pursuant to which I will receive a text alert three times per week. I am also confirming that I have read and understood the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy, and I agree to be legally bound by the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. I represent that (1) I am at least eighteen (18) years of age AND (2) I am of legal age to agree to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy, or I have my parent’s permission to use and register on this website. Please note that you must be 18 or older in the State of Florida to participate in this offer. I understand that I will be charged a fee for the service of $9.99 per month if my carrier is AT&T, VERIZON WIRELESS, T-MOBILE, SPRINT PCS, CELLULAR ONE, NEXTEL AND CINCINNATI BELL. $6.99 per month if my carrier is BOOST, VIRGIN MOBILE USA AND U.S. CELLULAR. This fee will be billed to, or deducted from, the mobile account or the prepaid balance I identified until I send “STOP” to 51345 to cancel subscription, and I confirm that I hold the account corresponding to the mobile phone number that I have entered, or that I have the account holder’s permission to use this service and incur this fee. Unused credits will not be rolled over to next month. Message and data rates may apply. To cancel your subscription, text message the word “STOP” to 51345 at anytime. For customer support, please send e-mail to care@quiz4now.com or call 1866 285 4637. Send HELP to 51345 for more info.

If you sign up, they will charge you $10 / month until you figure it out and cancel. Lame! There are a couple other posts at WC Replays and Casual Discourse showing interactive chat attempts to direct users to similar URLs. The baddies who are doing this seem to be Las Vegas based Impression Media.

Free Credit Report

Posted in Deals & Savings, Finance, Free by Elliott Back on October 3rd, 2009.

There’s a new website Credit.com that I saw linked from BoingBoing. You give them your address and social security number, and they give you back some general indicators of how good your credit is. Very easy to use, and the results, I believe are quite accurate.

credit grades

For example, I was dinged for not having an auto loan or a mortgage–OK, so having less debt is bad? The explanation they give you is interesting:

You don’t appear to have a healthy mix of accounts on your credit report.

You could be doing better in this category if you had a more diverse list of accounts. And, if you have finance company accounts on your credit report that could be hurting you as well. Finance companies are generally considered to be higher risk lenders who target higher risk customers. As such, consumers who have finance company accounts on their credit reports could suffer lower scores.

If you ever have a mortgage that shows up on your credit report then you will do better in this category. The reason is that studies show that consumers who have mortgages are more stable than consumers who do not. And, credit scores will reward you because of that stability.

They had some interesting statistics too, such as how long you’ve been “in the system” in terms of credit age:

7 years of credit history
Youngest account is 7 months
Oldest account is 85 months
Average age is 44 months

Neat stuff. Again, as it’s totally free, I really recommend checking out Credit.com. Leave some comments on this post and let me know what you think. Many credit reporting online companies are scams looking to steal your information and resell it–this one doesn’t seem to be.

Next Page »