Elliott C. Back: In Aere Aedificare

Axill, Total Spam

Posted in Computers & Technology, Spam, SEO by Elliott Back on December 12th, 2005.

Another email I received recently, this time in the contextual advertising / SEO arena:

Sub: CPM offer from Axill.com on your website.

Axill is one of the fastest growing publisher network. Axill provides a complete solution for publishers to generate huge revenue from their websites by offering the best offers on the web and facilitates the publishers to keep track of their performance by providing online reporting. Axill works with publishers to improvise their performance by suggesting the suitable offers and programs based on the website content

We are looking for CPM based advertising on the home page of website& would like to know your advertising rates. Payment would be done every 15 days via Paypal / check based on your convenience.

We would be serving only java script code for banners. We request you to please tell us what banner sizes you accept. Currently we serve 728×90 & 120×600.

Waiting for a positive reply

As this email is unsolicited commercial email without prior business relationship and lacking disclaimer of intent and an opt-out method, Axill is formally in violation of the US can-spam act. As such, they may be liable for as much as $11,000 in fines per incident. So far, there’s not much to learn about them from other bloggers, so I’ll assume they’re new and go easy on them with the following brief rejoinder:

To whomever,

I do not appreciate unsolicited commercial email resplendent in typographical errors, non-compliant with US anti-spam laws, and lacking a proper subject line and regular paragraph spacing. Recently I learned a phrase in Chinese which might apply to your efforts to seduce me to an advertising network which cannot possibly benefit me: ????!

Please reconsider your email marketing efforts and legal compliance, and remove me from any future mailing or contacts database.

Hopefully that gets the point across…

25 Responses to 'Axill, Total Spam'

  1. Daniel Nicolas said:

    on December 12th, 2005 at 1:16 pm

    While this is truely a spam email, what if I emailed you concerning advertising on your site? I don’t know how popular your site is, but surely if I had enough money to get enough small sites to advertise my site, then maybe I’d get some momentum behind it.

    Of course I don’t have this sort of money, but why not if it’s legit? Of course, people can say, no, I don’t want advertisments on my site, and please don’t contact me regarding this again.

    But I’m totally with you on outing the spammers.

  2. Ruth said:

    on December 12th, 2005 at 8:18 pm

    Nice use of Chinese! I can see that your Chinese has significantly improved! You can even curse in Chinese. LOL!

  3. Best Rest said:

    on December 17th, 2005 at 3:51 am

    I dont think its SPAM. It’s a business proposal i guess, if it come from same domain.

  4. Vincent Lo said:

    on December 31st, 2005 at 5:11 am

    Yep, I just got this email, except it was actually sent properly via my email form at www.radiofeeds.co.uk/form.html , so perhaps it’s human as opposed to a robot.
    But yeah, their proposal seems to good to be true at the moment, so will wait to see if any further comments on this blog are added. (I only found this blog after doing a Google search for comments on Axill!!)

    Vinnie

  5. Matt Keegan said:

    on January 2nd, 2006 at 6:55 am

    I, too, am trying to find out more information about this company. I received a similar email message this morning and, so far as I can tell, the company is legitimate.

    I received the inquiry for only one of my sites, however:
    www.aviationemploymentboard.net/

    I am wondering if, like Google’s Adsense, I would be allowed to post their ads beyond my one site?

  6. yopo said:

    on January 6th, 2006 at 4:33 am

    I also just got an email from this company, googled it and ended up here too. The offer does seem pretty good but how can I trust it? There’s very little information on the company anywhere!

    anyone come up with more info on it?

  7. yopo said:

    on January 6th, 2006 at 4:48 am

    after checking out their site it does look a bit suspect. If you check out this page ( www.axill.com/demo.aspx ) where they claim to have ads on other websites - check out the sites and I can’t see any of their ads.

    After doing a bit more research, I see they are owned by Northgate Technologies Inc. Check it out - www.google.co.uk/search?q=Northgate+%2B+Axill

    If anyone finds anything more out please post it up here

  8. Kesey said:

    on January 6th, 2006 at 6:17 am

    I also got this email this morning. Have all of the same questions as the rest of the commenters. Found this site by google’ing axill - there’s a rare keyword to ad to my next blog post ;)

  9. Finn said:

    on January 7th, 2006 at 8:36 am

    I got this email also. If this is fake they have put a lot of effort in it. The site looks professional. I have answered the mail, but not registered my page.
    Same with me: I have not yet found any “real” axill ad…..

  10. Finn said:

    on January 7th, 2006 at 9:30 am

    I did a little more research. It seems like this company is related to an IP phone brand called Globe7. (www.globe7.com). I noticed the same contact name for both globe7 and axill: Jayesh Patel. According to a press release for Globe7 this is his phone number: 908-327-3900.
    If you want to be an affiliate with Globe7 you are redirected to Axill…

  11. Finn said:

    on January 7th, 2006 at 9:55 am

    Hi again, here is the press release with the full story:

    www.businesswireindia.com/Feeds/HT/bwirelease08674.asp

    Finn

  12. Blue_Chi said:

    on January 9th, 2006 at 5:38 am

    I got this email today as well. It was sent through our contact form, I doubt that it’s a bot.

  13. Blue_Chi said:

    on January 9th, 2006 at 6:25 am

    I just got an email from them, they are offering a 0.30 CPM rate, which is so much lower than the eCPM that I get through AdSense.

    Their banners could be found at this link:
    72.3.140.226/strips.htm

  14. Finn said:

    on January 9th, 2006 at 3:30 pm

    Hi Blue_Chi,
    I got the same offer. I will let them have some space as a secondary campaign.

    Finn

  15. yopo said:

    on January 10th, 2006 at 4:29 pm

    Exactly! Same here. I repleied and no doubt got the same email as you. (I can’t actually see any banners on that linked page?)

    Finn please let us know how it goes!

    Blue_Chi said:

    on January 9th, 2006 at 6:25 am

    I just got an email from them, they are offering a 0.30 CPM rate, which is so much lower than the eCPM that I get through AdSense.

    Their banners could be found at this link:
    72.3.140.226/strips.htm

  16. Finn said:

    on January 15th, 2006 at 5:22 am

    Hi again,

    I have ran Axill as a secondary campaign for a few days now. Since my site is international and just a few secondary hits will be from US and Canada it will not give 0.30$ CPM at all. They did not tell that they only counted hits from US and Canada, if I had known this from the start I would not started this at all.

    Also: If you read their conditions closely it seems like that they may send your visitors pop-ups. I don’t like this at all.

    I have other ad providers that give much more, especially hits from the US.

    Finn
    Webmaster
    www.tritrans.net

  17. TOM said:

    on July 19th, 2006 at 6:39 pm

    YOU “GUYS” ARE CONSIDERING THIS OUTFIT FROM ONLY YOUR NARROW ADVERTISER ETC PERSPECTIVE THEY ARE A LIVING NIGHTMARE FOR US, HERETOFORE, UNSUSPECTING RESPONDENTS/CUSTOMERS. THEY HAVE A HORENDOUS TRACK RECORD THUS FAR. AND CUSTOMER SERVICE ACTUALLY BLOCKED MAIL FROM MY E-MAIL ADDRESS WHEN I INQUIRED AS TO THEIR OBVIOUS PROBLEMS RE: TRACKING, CREDITING AND SO FORTH—THEY OFFER “FREE PHONECARD(S)” FOR COMPLETION OF OFFERS ON THEIR “GLOBALFREECALLING.COM” WEBSITE LURE IN THE INNOCENT PROSPECTIVE CUSTOMER THEN DON’T PAY OFF GOOD SCAM

  18. kaka tyo said:

    on September 20th, 2006 at 7:21 am

    I got my payment from axill. it’s the best affiliate in the world. daily payout.

  19. Jhon said:

    on October 12th, 2006 at 7:22 pm

    Its not spam, they are offering you cpm ads for your site. Appreciate the fact that a network is interested in your content and stop whining!

  20. Jessica said:

    on May 25th, 2007 at 7:04 am

    Its not spam, they are offering you cpm ads for your site. Appreciate the fact that a network is interested in your content and stop whining!
    It’s the best affiliate site in the world.
    To know more about the site,plz click on the fallowing link.
    axill-e-advertiser.blogspot.com/

  21. True said:

    on September 13th, 2007 at 11:52 am

    I will try Axill anyway!

  22. Gabriel said:

    on October 26th, 2007 at 8:59 am

    Axill is one of the best and paying programs for such cpm offers today! i always get paid and never have had problems with anything!

  23. vishal said:

    on February 23rd, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    hi all

    i have 145$ in my axill account , but i am not seeing there any option to withdraw the payment
    would anybody please tell me how axill processes the payment

    thankyou

  24. keshav said:

    on May 10th, 2008 at 2:53 am

    axill-They diabled my account for no reason grabing some $200 on reaching the payout -keep them down

  25. Aju Chacko said:

    on July 3rd, 2008 at 1:15 am

    My earnings also reached $150 but so far i didn’t receive any check and they are not responding for mails. I am really worried about there service.

Your Thoughts Go Here:

Powered by WP Hashcash