Is Clubhostcity.com Spammer’s Paradise?
I sent an email to Layeredtech, because DNS claimed that they owned the IP which operated Accelzone, a splog ripping off my content, but then I got the following email from Club Host City, who claim they actually operate the site:
We have received your complaint regarding copyright issues with Accelzone.com forwarded to us via the 3rd party that you erroneously contacted, Layered Technologies, who incidentally has absolutely nothing to do with Accelzone.com whatsoever and is **NOT** the hosting provider for that domain.
Did you ever think about looking at the WHOIS information on the domain instead of trying to do an IP lookup?
We share the same data center as Layered Technologies and our IP addresses come out of the same IP pool as them in the Saavis data center, Dallas, TX but we have no affiliation with that company other than the common location.
For future reference, the hosting provider is the domain shown on the DNS servers and also listed as the contact
address in the DNS record header.If you just took a look at the header record of the DNS or the DNS servers listed in the WHOIS, you would already know who the hosting provider was.
The hosting provider for Accelzone.com is Cybertoad Networks located on the web at www.cybertoad.net which is a reseller under our company, Clubhost City.
We would have been happy to handle your complaint! However, we have absolutely no tolerance for dead light bulbs like yourself so we are instead going to ban you from our entire network and all web sites that we control (more than 3 million) and instruct the reseller to give the customer Accelzone.com a free upgrade to the next account plan at our expense.
Next time you should be more careful!
–
Abuse / Policy Enforcement
Clubhost City
Here’s what DNS says for accelzone.com:
Domain Name: ACCELZONE.COM
Registrant:
accelzone
accelz *******@gmail.com)
4th street
NY
,90210
US
Tel. +76.12121455Creation Date: 10-Nov-2005
Expiration Date: 10-Nov-2006Domain servers in listed order:
ns2.clubhostcity.com
ns.clubhostcity.com
That doesn’t tell me anything substantive, so I looked up the IP address (72.36.230.170) and then WHOISed it:
OrgName: Layered Technologies, Inc.
OrgID: LAYER-3
Address: 18816 Preston Road
Address: Suite #100
City: Dallas
StateProv: TX
PostalCode: 75252
Country: USReferralServer: rwhois.layeredtech.com:4321
NetRange: 72.36.128.0 - 72.36.255.255
CIDR: 72.36.128.0/17
NetName: LAYERED-TECH-
NetHandle: NET-72-36-128-0-1
Parent: NET-72-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS1.LAYEREDTECH.COM
NameServer: NS2.LAYEREDTECH.COM
Comment: Please send all abuse complaints to
Comment: *****@layeredtech.com
Comment: Please send all network queries to ***@layeredtech.com
RegDate: 2005-02-22
Updated: 2005-09-07
Since everything pointed to the site being hosted by Layeredtech, I don’t think I was wrong in initially emailing, and cannot believe the response I got from Clubhostcity. I replied to them:
The WHOIS information does not actually list clubhostcity as being anything but the nameserver, which is not an indicator of hosting status or not. I use dreamhost as a nameserver for many of my domains, while they’re hosted elsewhere on a dedicated server. Instead, I looked up the IP address to determine who was hosting accelzone, and it returned that the IP came from within Layered Tech’s address space. Naturally, I contacted their abuse department first, who insisted that I file a DMCA complaint. I’m not sure how I could have determined that you were actually the host.
Since I seem to have erroneously sent them that email, I’ll file it instead with you. Please expect to receive a DMCA notice by email shortly.
It seems that the infringing page is now down, but at what cost? Here’s a screenshot:

This is perhaps worse than dealing with yesterday’s incident with Robert Scoble, because the relationship between him and I involved correction and communication across a larger mistake. Here we have no mistake on my part (as far as I can tell) and incredible arrogance on the part of the host. Sorry Clubhostcity; in your email you confess that you’re going to give a spammer and splogger a bonus for evading the legal system. That means bloggers won’t like you.
This entry was posted on Monday, August 28th, 2006 at 10:17 pm and is tagged with saavis, ip lookup, light bulbs, splog, record header, club host, entire network, dns record, dns servers, header record, whois, host city, copyright issues, free upgrade, abuse policy, contact address, 90210, registrant, hosting provider, dallas tx. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback.

Add New Comment
Viewing 11 Comments
Thanks. Your comment is awaiting approval by a moderator.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Add New Comment
Trackbacks
(Trackback URL)