Rojo, Spam Splog
I’m getting somewhat annoyed with Rojo, the web-aggregator and personalized search engine, who are copying my content:

This would be ok if they used javascript to dynamically pull and parse my feed, but no, they write it into a page that’s publicly viewable. This means they’re essentially making their site run off the stolen content of millions of bloggers. Since I’m opposed to content-theft, copyright-infringement, etc, I sent them an email:
ATTN: Rojo
Several of your pages, including but not limited to:
www.rojo.com/feed/zZrv8kvc19zskDnK
contain copies of intellectual property belonging to the Elliott Back Blog Network. Please remove these and any other pages copying content from elliottback.com or any of its subdomains, and cease and desist any future copying.
Guess what I got back from Rojo, almost at once:
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.
A message that you have sent could not be delivered to one or more
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address failed:copyrightnotice @rojo.com: 550 5.7.0
So Rojo can’t be contacted at the address they list for copyright issues. What to do next? I think I’ll call someone high up there.
This entry was posted on Tuesday, February 27th, 2007 at 10:02 pm and is tagged with mail delivery, delivery software, copyright infringement, copyright issues, subdomains, bloggers, aggregator, intellectual property, email, spam, search engine. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback.
4 Responses to 'Rojo, Spam Splog'
Leave a Reply
Fresh, related resources:
- Anti Spam at the Enterprise Level
Like a large number of people, I don t use any spam filters. Ah. You think I m insane. But wait. My problem is that I get a lot of email from marketing types which I want to receive. And the spam filtering software is not very sensitive ... - Fight The Hunters - Get A Shield Against Spam
In its laboratories residential them cook industrial quantities of spam spam following special revenue and use of these weapons hazardous waste his days in power live! Meet them face to face: spam - unsolicited, unwanted, ... - Planet Malaysia Blog: Fight Splogs
What is Splog? SPAM + BLOG = SPLOG. “Splog” is short for Spam Blog. Spam blogs are blogs that don’t provide any real content for users. They exist solely to game the search engines. These splogs may exist just to have links to other ... - Is Rojo a Splog?
The splogging situation is clearly getting out of control when big, “brand name” Web sites start to display scrapped feed content on their home pages. From Six Apart/Rojo: Now Spam Bloggers? on Plagiarism Today: ... - Rojo, Spam Splog
I’m getting somewhat annoyed with Rojo, the web-aggregator and personalized search engine, who are copying my content:. This would be ok if they used javascript to dynamically pull and parse my feed, but no, they write it into a page ...

on March 1st, 2007 at 1:00 am
[…] Original post by Elliott Back and a wordpress plugin by Elliott […]
on March 1st, 2007 at 5:36 am
Unfortunately the number of websites stealing / copying content from other sites, with the soul purpose of generating traffic for their Google ads, has grown rapidly. They use multiple (sub)domain names, which makes it difficult to prevent these practices. Sending them (sites like Rojo) an e-mail won’t help; however it’s possible to report an AdSense policy violation to Google (adsense-abuse@google.com).
on March 2nd, 2007 at 2:15 pm
This is an issue that is going to spring up more and more often as we explore content syndication. Why do you think we even bother to call it syndication? Releasing your content as RSS opens the floodgates for this kind of behavior. In the end is it really so bad? Does Google not have quite a lot of people’s content stored locally? /Devil’s advocate
on April 11th, 2007 at 3:58 pm
I hope you saw that Anil Dash announced in the comments on PlagiarismToday.com that Rojo & Nooz have updated copyright abuse contact info.
My most recent email didn’t bounce … but my content remains on their site.