Want to buy a text link? I hope not.
I recently received the following email soliciting a text link on my blogs. I really don’t like being asked to sell links on my blog, but this individual at least spelled my name correctly:
Hi Elliott,
I came across your site while browsing around on the web and thought I’d write. I’m a fellow Ivy-Leaguer (Columbia ‘03) and I recently helped start a writing company at www.pegr.com
. I was wondering if you’d be willing to work out a trade with me, where you link to my website from a few of your blogs in exchange for payment from me. The link text would be “website copywriting, ghost writer services, organic seo, technical writing”. Is this something you’d be interested in? If so, how much do you think is fair? I’m also willing to make an offer if that’s easier for you. Take it easy!
Sandy
www.pegr.com
Not particularily liking this business, I replied:
Hi Sandy,
I’m a random coke junky (hate pepsi) from Devry Technical Institute, all though my website lists me as a Cornellian, that’s just so people would be more impressed with me. I use a DNS hack to get the pagerank that you see, and there’s a lot of cloaking going on too. My main source of traffic comes from exotic pornography sites and church webpages on frontpage 98 that I’ve turned into massive visitor botnets.
I would be more than happy to sponsor your black hat SEO, but my e-banking isn’t working. If you’re interested, I will have to accept deliver of 1000 baby leeches, which I use in my own home-grown surgical office, per link. It should be relatively easy to ship them overnight in refrigerated containers.
How many links are you interested in?
Thanks,
Elliott C. Bäck
It’s probably immature, but then so is this kind of social engineering SEO.
| This entry was posted on Saturday, August 27th, 2005 at 12:25 pm and is tagged with ivy leaguer, dns hack, church webpages, pornography sites, ghost writer, writer services, writing company, e banking, leeches, black hat, frontpage 98, social engineering, main source, pagerank, technical writing, pepsi, coke, email, containers, columbia. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback. |


Anyone recommend using SEO Elite, I have tried the trial versions, seems to save a lot of time, but is the full version worth the $167? Thanks!
This funny, it also happen with me, like a **** coz they want something with traffic or SE pagerank from my website.
Holy ****. That is the best spam response I’ve ever read. Kudos.
(I stumbled into your site completely by accident. I’m trying to crack the mystery that is Magazine Man. Ok, so it’s probably pointless, but I’m glad one of my google searches landed me here…ok, I’ll keep reading now…)
Smiles~
There was something after the blah blah blah part before my end comment. it looked fine in the preview though!
It said:
Yeah right… some quality content comparable to my content… uh huh .. huhuhuh….
Huh– I see the whole thing, dunno if anything is missing, though! Seems like you forgot an end tag?
That’s weird… half of my comment got slashed off…. oh bugger….
I got a moronic mail like that as well today. Slightly different but it has the same desperate nature:
I’m amazed people even take the time to send this kind of ****…. boggles the mind!